About Deborah Watson Home Care 

Hello my name is Deborah, I am 49 years of age. 
 
I have a very warming nature, trustworthy, kind and considerate. I have much empathy around the elderly and it gives me pleasure to be working with them. 
Fully qualified carer 
DBS checked 
Insured 
My Guide qualified (Working with blind and visually impaired people) 
Certification includes: 
 
Control and Administration of Medicines Level 3 
The Care Certificate – Knowledge Evidence These certificates are shown to every new client. 
References are also available. 

Background 

In 2000 I started up my own ironing business, but in my spare time I did some volunteering work for the Leeds Jewish Welfare Board in Moortown, befriending the elderly. I had two clients who I visited on a regular basis, either to take them for a cuppa or to go shopping with them. I also took them for appointments. These were two lovely ladies, who were lonely and I loved my time with them as they did with me! This was very rewarding and made me feel happy. 
 
In 2014 I took a decision to make this work my livelihood and successfully applied for a position as Housing Support Worker for a charity called HFT (formerly Home Farm Trust). HFT is a national charity dedicated to allowing people with a range of disabilities to live an independent a life as possible. To do this they operate a number of private houses and flats around the country where disabled people live their own lives, aided by a number of support workers.  
 
The amount of support was governed by the degree and type of disability. As a main, though, I would check and control medication, give out ‘pocket money’ and take them shopping etc. 
They would make their own meals, clean the house and do their own washing. The house where I was based was comprised of 3 people; 2 males and 1 female in their late twenties/early thirties. Being a mediator was also part of my job. As well as being very challenging it was also very rewarding. 
 
During this time I was approached by a friend regarding an elderly lady with Alzheimer’s who needed somebody to ‘befriend’ her on a daily basis twice a day and on a Thursday a full day so she was able to have a social day out. I went to meet her and we got on like a house on fire. I was delighted to be offered the job, it felt like a dream come true for me! I realised then that my true forte is with the elderly. I decided to resign my position at HFT and I have now (at the time of writing) been with her for 22 months 
 
A few months ago I was approached about another client who is 94 years old and severely visually impaired. I go twice a week for 4 hours each time. I take her for walks around where she lives, to lunch and to the hospital for appointments. 
If you are elderly and in need of any home care, or if you know someone who would benefit from my home care services across Wetherby and the surrounding area, then please don’t hesitate to get in touch for a chat. 
Designed and created by it'seeze
Our site uses cookies. For more information, see our cookie policy. Accept cookies and close
Reject cookies Manage settings